Indian Summer

I’m crazy for the Southwest look. In fact, I’m crazy for the Southwest, period, esp. since I live here. Does Southern California count as Southwest? Or are we just West? Not technically sure, but it’s Southwest to me. I was born and raised a Southern girl, so I refuse to be West without the South. I love to visit Arizona and New Mexico, too. Albuquerque is one of my favorite places. It is so beautiful there. I have decorated my home with pottery, rugs & tapestries I picked up there and I like to decorate myself in this style, too. Since Autumn is just around the corner, or at least it would be if we actually had seasons here, this is the perfect time to break out what I’m calling the Indian Summer look. Just right for in between summer and fall. Here are just a few of my favorite tribal-inspired pieces:

southwest pic

Clockwise from top left: Denim & Supply by Ralph Lauren t-shirt (been wearing this a lot all summer); Cha Cha Vente label t-shirt from Macy’s; faux leather pencil skirt, Forever 21; crossbody bag from Tilly’s; Forever 21 black halter top with beaded neckline; Banana Republic silk skirt; Two Lips feathered wedges; John Paul Richard embroidered top with beaded tassels; Very suede shorts from Asos; and Denim & Supply sweater (center), which I practically wore out last winter. IMO, nobody does Southwest style better than the Denim & Supply line…well, maybe Isabel Marant and Proenza Schouler, but I can’t afford those 😉 

Please excuse the terrible photo. My first attempt at learning to use Paint, tutored by my 15-year-old. LOL, it’s pretty bad, I know! No idea where the top of those straps on the bag went! I don’t know how other bloggers do it so nicely. Need more lessons, clearly.

Here are a few more of my favorites that I couldn’t fit into the collage:

IMG_1158IMG_1157

Michael Kors snakeskin sandals…literally the most comfortable shoes EVER…have had them at least three years now and have worn them practically every day. They should be worn out, but must be excellent quality because they’re holding up fine so far. Knock wood. And a turquoise-look belt from Tilly’s.

IMG_1155IMG_1140

Assorted necklaces and bracelets. And a sleeveless graphic sweater from Forever 21. I would have included my favorite blanket coat by BB Dakota, but that’s really a winter item, so stay tuned for a later post with that one.

Beautiful Old Town Albuquerque

Beautiful Old Town Albuquerque

And my beautiful boys on our roadtrip across the US when we moved from KY to CA five years ago. Wow, they’ve changed so much. 

Leave a Reply

