Threads is Dead

So did you guys stay up last night to watch Project Runway Threads? I wasn’t going to, but then I started the recording because having the tv on helps me fall asleep. Even for that purpose, it was too awful to watch. As soon as I realized it was only going to be 3 kids competing against each other in one challenge for each show, I was done and turned it back off.

Now, I realize that they can’t take little kids out of their homes and make them compete in challenges for weeks or months at a time, but I just have no interest whatsoever in a one-day challenge between only three people.

More strikes against it…I’m not a huge Christian Siriano fan…I don’t like his attitude & never thought he deserved to win his season. So sue me. But this is a new low, even for him. And whoever that host girl is…no clue…her voice is horribly irritating.

Then they said they’d get to have adult helpers…okay…but then the “helpers” turned out to be their PARENTS?  Hell to the no. I was done. I have zero interest in watching a bunch of Dance Moms-type drama or in kids arguing with their parents. I get enough of that in real life, believe me.

Kudos to all these kids for being so talented. It’s inspiring and amazing that they’re able to do this. They all have more talent at such a young age than I will ever have in my entire life. But this show really has nothing to do with fashion, so I’m not sure who’s going to watch it. No matter how well they can sew, no 12-year-old kid knows what’s cutting-edge in the fashion world or what grown women want to wear. If the show truly cared about focusing on fashion, they would have supplied these kids with some real mentors who were knowledgeable in the fashion industry. Putting the parents on just turns it into a sad mockery.

Speaks volumes to what Project Runway has devolved into on Lifetime that they’re willing to put their name on this. Ick.  At least they haven’t brought back that horrible Under the Gunn show yet. I love Tim, but I’m embarrassed at what Lifetime has turned him into.

I think all these kids should 100 percent keep on doing what they’re doing and I’m sure many of them will be great designers someday. I applaud their talent and ambition. It just doesn’t make for a good tv show. I’ll be surprised if it makes it through the season without being canceled. Expect it will soon go the way of Amanda de Cadenet. I mean, let’s be honest, who’s really going to watch this more than once, other than their own Grandmas?

Leave a Reply

