A Few of My Favorite Cold-Weather Things

It’s October, and a chill is in the air. Granted, out here in sunny SoCal, that only lasts until the sun comes fully up for the day, but at least we get a few evening hours of pretending it’s fall. Here’s hoping the cool weather will extend its chilly fingers into the daytime hours soon. Trying to get into the autumnal mood, here are a few of my favorite things for celebrating the season:

Bath & Body Works has the best scented products for fall & winter. Pumpkin Cupcake candles? Yes, please. Last year, my mom gave me this luxury body bath in their Cashmere Glow scent. It smells so good….the perfect fragrance for luxuriating in a warm sudsy tub by the firelight. (Yes, I have a fireplace in my bathroom, it’s the whole reason I bought this house!)The bubble bath sells for $14, and they also have lotion, shower gel, etc. in the same scent.

I received a trial size of the Bvlgari Au Thé Blanc Conditioner in my Glossybox for Bazaar last month. It is hands-down the best-smelling hair product I have ever used, and  the scent lingers in your hair for days.  I am so in love with it, that I even intend to splurge on the full size when it runs out. Unfortunately, it seems to either be sold out or discontinued, as I can’t find it in-stock anywhere online now. I’m hoping that’s just due to its popularity after the Glossybox featured it and that it will be back soon. If not, you can get the same scent in this shampoo/shower gel, available for $45.00 at Sephora.com.

I have been a huge fan of MorrocanOil since I received a couple bottles as free gifts in my goodie bags from the Grammys several years ago. I have terrible hair; it’s fine, thin, flat and doesn’t hold a curl or have any body at all. MorrocanOil is the only product I have found that conditions beautifully without weighing down my hair or making it greasy at all. It almost makes me feel like I don’t have problem hair at all when I use it. I love it and it’s totally worth the price ($43 for 4.3 oz. at Nordstrom). The cheaper brands I’ve tried are not the same.

I mentioned this is in a post a couple of weeks ago, but the Garnier Fructis De-Constructed Texture Tease Spray is amazing for adding texture and body to flat, limp hair like mine. I use it every day, and it’s only about $4 at Target or Walmart.

Two years ago, i had the worst sinus infection of my life. None of the medication I tried helped to clear it up at all, and I literally suffered all winter long. i finally read about this Swiss Olbas Oil in Lucky magazine, and was able to locate it at my local Sprouts. It’s a blend of essential oils, including eucalyptus, peppermint, wintergreen, cajeput, juniper and clove. Sprinkle a few drops on a kleenex and breathe it in for instant sinus relief. You can even sleep with it tucked inside your pillowcase. After a week or two of using this, my sinus infection FINALLY went away, so I swear by it.  I use it now for relief when I get my sinus-related migraines, too. You can also sprinkle some into a pot of hot water and breathe in it with a towel draped over your head, or use it a massage oil for sore muscles & joints. Walmart.com sells a .32 oz. bottle for $8.47. Totally worth it.

Another great product I discovered by getting a trial version with another purchase is this Lancôme Crême Radiance Mousse cleanser. Just the tiniest bit of this cleanser will lather up into a whole faceful of foam, which cleanses without drying, leaving your skin pure and soft. It foams up so much that it only takes a miniscule amount of product to get the amount of suds you need. I have been using the same trial-size tube for about 9 months now.  I am sure that a full-sized 4.2 fl. oz. tube ($25 at Macy’s) would last the rest of my lifetime. Now that is a luxury that is a true bargain. Wish I could say the same for the Genefique serum I spent about $100 on to get this sample. It’s a nice enough serum, but I have not noticed any significantly improved youthfulness to my skin. A fountain of youth, it ain’t, sadly. But I definitely recommend the Crême Radiance cleanser. It’s fabulous.

I saw a picture in a magazine last year of a model with the absolute most perfect lipcolor for fall. I had to have it. It was the Dior Addict Extreme lipcolor in Sunset Boulevard. I have always shied away from red lips. Although I’d love to be that girl, reds always seem just a bit too much. Too bright, too obvious. But this is the perfect rust color for cooler weather looks. A little brown, a deeper red, that even I am not too shy to wear. It’s my go-to fall lipcolor now. $33.00 at Nordstrom.

I’m extremely picky about perfume. I hate overly floral scents and most perfumes turn me off by being just too cloying. For summer, I do like sweeter, more candy-scented options. For years, I wore the Warm Vanilla Sugar scent by Victoria’s Secret, which I was told made me smell like chocolate…yum! But then I think they discontinued it and I graduated to something a bit more sophisticated, Viva La Juicy by Juicy Couture. I still love that scent for summer, but for fall I prefer to wear something a bit spicier. I am absolutely obsessed with the Viktor & Rolf Flowerbomb. This is probably my favorite perfume that I have ever smelled. Unfortunately, the $80.00 per ounce price tag is a bit out of my range at the moment. Luckily, I discovered Killer Queen by Katy Perry, which although not exactly the same, is a very similar scent for a lot less. Though there are some differences, they share the notes of bergamot, jasmine and patchouli.  And Katy’s is a lot more affordable, $59.00 for 3.4 oz. at Macy’s. I was even lucky enough to find a bottle at Ross for only $30.00. Not to mention, it has the awesome name of one of my all-time favorite songs. This is my new go-to scent until someone sees fit to gift me with the Flowerbomb, hint, hint!

Leave a Reply

