It’s the Holiday Season

And I’m gettin’ nuttin’ for Christmas, because I have been a bad, bad girl. So sorry to have neglected my poor little blog for so long. I’ve just been so incredibly busy. Not enough hours in the day to get everything done, what with shopping and shopping and more shopping to do, decorating the house and wrapping gifts, and school parties, plus I started writing a new daily column at UltimateCoupons.com, and that is taking up a lot of my time. Oh, and did I mention shopping?

Check out the Daily Roundup at http://www.ultimatecoupons.com/ for your daily dose of great shopping and savings deals. Even if you’re not looking to shop, the articles make great hilarious reading, in my own less than humble opinion. Hey, if you can’t toot your own horn, who’s going to do it? There’s a new column each weekday, and if you want to take a look back at some of the older (so funny) ones, just click the link at the bottom of the page that says Daily Roundup.

I also have occasional articles posted on the site’s blog. Here is a link to my latest one, which is all about how to deck out your house for the holidays on the cheap:  http://www.ultimatecoupons.com/blog/2014/12/christmas-decor-less/ (Holiday Décor for Less).

Here are some photos to go along with that article, of what I’ve been working so hard on in my own house. I haven’t got a good one of my main tree yet, but I’ll post one as soon as I get the camera charged. I’ve also got some posts coming up on great gift ideas for book lovers and holiday party outfits, so stay tuned. I am going to try to get back in the swing of things and not neglect my posts for so long again. Fingers crossed!

IMG_1740IMG_1743

IMG_1746IMG_1747

These are photos of my Grandma’s old silver tinsel tree. It was originally purchased by her father, my Great-grandfather. She used to put it up every year in his memory, and I liked it so much that she eventually passed it on to me. Now I put it up every year for her, and the top right photo is of my super-stylish Grandma, in her own special place near the top of the tree. The original color wheel had been broken or lost, but she tracked down a replacement for me at an antique store and it still works great. My Grandma passed away just before Christmas three years ago and I miss her more every year. I love to honor her memory this way. That is my little helper elf on the bottom right. He did not want his picture taken! Just to give an idea of how old this tree is, here is a picture of what’s left of the original box, which amazingly, I still store it in:IMG_1782

IMG_1777 IMG_1765 IMG_1764 IMG_1762IMG_1763IMG_1760IMG_1761IMG_1759IMG_1775IMG_1776IMG_1774

IMG_1773 IMG_1772

Here are some more of my decorations. The white tree was done entirely by my 10-year-old this year. He said he wanted to do his own classic Christmas tree, because he was tired of my themed trees! I went a bit rustic and old-fashioned with the decor this year.

A couple of weeks ago, I mentioned that I was going to start selling some of my clothes on Ebay. Well, that got pushed to the side, too. Just too much else going on right now. I hope to take that project back up after the new year, because I really do have a lot of great stuff that I’m not wearing. I’ll keep you posted when the new auctions go up.

Thanks so very much for reading my blog and being patient with me. Hope you have a wonderful, incredible, peaceful holiday season, whatever you celebrate, and because I refuse to believe it is offensive to anyone to give good wishes, have a very Merry Christmas and an inspiring, productive and fashionable New Year!

Leave a Reply

